ZTF Organization

Home / About / ZTF Organization

ZTF Organization

  • The Zwicky Transient Facility is a large international partnership with diverse scientific interests. As such, we have structured the partnership in science working groups (SWG) with focus on common science goals. The ZTF board comprises of members from each institution and convenes once a month to discuss the general direction of the project. The Science Steering Committee draws members from partner institutions and advices the board on how to optimize scientific returns from the project. The PI and Project Scientist also receive feedback from the NSF MSIP advisory committee.

  • The Science Steering Committee (SSC) provides guidance to the board on how to optimize the scientific return from the partnership. This could include allocation of partnership shares of observing facilities (P48, P60), priorities for pipeline and software development, and approval of new scientific collaborators. The members of the SSC are drawn from the partnership institutions.

    • David Kaplan (UWM, USA) - chair
    • Brad Cenko (UMD, USA)
    • Ashish Mahabal (Caltech, USA)
    • Boris Gaensicke (University of Warwick, UK)
    • George Helou (Caltech/IPAC, USA)
    • Anna Ho (Cornell, USA)
    • Matthew Graham (Caltech, USA)
  • The members of the NSF MSIP advisory committee are:

    • Mario Juric (University of Washington, Seattle, USA) - Chair
    • Francisco Forster (Universidad de Chile; ALERCE Lead)
    • J.J. Hermes (Boston University, USA)
    • Matt Holman (CfA, USA Minor Planet Center Director)
    • Juna Kollmeier (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
    • Mukremin Kilic (University of Oklahoma, USA)
    • Maryam Modjaz (NYU, USA)
  • The ZTF board members are:

    • Shri Kulkarni (Caltech) - Principal Investigator
    • Matthew Graham (Caltech) - Project Scientist
    • Mansi Kasliwal (Caltech) - Co -PI
    • George Helou (Caltech/IPAC) - Co-PI
    • Tom Prince (Caltech) - Co-PI
    • Daniela Margutti (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
    • Jesper Sollerman (OKC, University of Stockholm, Sweden)
    • Marek Kowalski (DESY/HUmboldt University of Berlin, Germany)
    • Anna Franckowiak (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany)
    • Boris Gaensicke (University of Warwick, UK)
    • Anna Ho (Cornell University, USA)
    • Brad Cenko (University of Maryland, College Park, USA)
    • Adam Miller (Northwestern University, USA)
    • Patrick Brady (University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, USA)
    • Michael Schneider (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
    • Eric Bellm (University of Washington, Seattle, USA)